The Honey Badger Sales Magazine 38

I'm The Honey Badger - Make More Money. Your One Stop Shop for All Things Tele and Video Sales related

“My biggest deals, I have always closed on the phone”

True story. So. I’ve just moved (this was about eight years ago for work) to Barcelona, Spain, and I’m shopping inside the Mercat de Sant Josep de Boqueria on the Ramblas. The world-famous indoor food market sells just about everything one could ever eat or drink. Fresh Mangosteen’s anyone? It’s one of the most delicious fruits I’ve ever tried, and so should you.

Anyway, after allowing my senses to take over and follow each new aroma to its rightful destination, I found myself at one of the many meat counters ogling at the beautiful cuts of nicely marbled Ribeye steaks, enticing jars of duck confit, and Mediterranean sun-tanned, free-range corn-fed chickens. Amongst this catwalk lineup of Bovine and Poultry in the corner of my eye, at the back of the display counter, I spy this gorgeous rack of Lamb winking at me provocatively with its tits practically hanging out. It was love at first sight.

Grinning wildly, I hastily muscled my way in, past the crowd, to canvass the thoughts of the shop assistant to see if he’d be open to her joining me back home for a Negroini, a bottle of Jean Leon 3055 Petit Verdot, and a bite to eat.

It would be a gross understatement to say that the look on the assistant’s face when he looked at the startled horror of mine, when I realised I had no idea what rack of lamb was in Spanish and proceeded to bleat out quietly, “B-a-a-h…” was clearly shaken. He must have thought I was genuinely possessed. To the extent that he peered over his shoulders to check, there was no camera crew filming his reaction.

With a sigh of relief, he snapped into full “Houston” mode and proceeded to serve me through a process of elimination. He pointed first at the jar of confit and said, “Este?” I shook my head apologetically and reminded him helpfully that I was still wanting “B-a-a-h.”

Feeling rather helpless, I did actually consider kneeling down on the floor so that I could point out the “rack” that was playing so hard to get, but then quickly reminded myself that this might be a bad idea as the locals were already on edge. Three attempts later, I triumphantly shouted out “B-A-A-A-H!”

The shop assistant also joined in and shouted out for the first time “B-A-A-A-H!” to the locals and “El Quiere Costillas de Cordero!” just to let them know that everything was going to be ok and that they too would also be going home soon. A collective sigh of “Ahaaa,” and I was on my way.

Needless to say, “Rack, Negroni, Merlot, and I all got on famously. (Recipe at the foot of this page.)

All of which unapologetically leads me on to the first four things to think about before you even think about making an important call or video meetup.

  1. You have to like yourself. (self-explanatory)

  2. You have to like the products, services, or goods that you sell. (Knowledge)

  3. The prospect has to like you. (Are you approachable?)

  4. And rather unsurprisingly, you have to like the prospect. (Do you really?)

The above has to be polished, perfected, and honed before you can start dealing with the right person. (Another lesson awaits on how to do that.) Or how to word your pitch. Selling something is without doubt the most exciting thing you can do legally with your clothes on.

“I often quote myself. It adds spice to my conversation.” George Bernard Shaw

Let’s not miss each other. You here next wednesday ? Sign up here for free.

In my case, I was prepared to do anything to get my hands on that rack of lamb, even if at the beginning I made a complete fool of myself. The point is that I’m very comfortable in my own skin. Everyone did have a laugh at my expense, and most importantly, so did I. It’s ok to show your ignorance if you can learn from it and become a more knowledgeable person.

For the record, you’re damn right. On my next visit to the market, I made sure that I had a basic grasp of Spanish to ensure that “B-a-a-h. Gate” never happened again.

Remember. Smiling and (if possible) making eye contact work; it’s your prospects first contact with you.

On my second visit, the shop assistant recognised me and shouted out, “B-a-a-h, man!” So I guess I made a positive impression.

Laugh and learn.

I aim to teach a new telephone skill set each week. Over time, we’ll cover the entire sales process. Ever since CV19 changed our working habits, I’ve noticed that it can be difficult to stay inside the “zone” and be effective at closing deals. I’m here to teach you everything I know about closing deals on the phone or video in bite-sized chunks every week. Get to know yourself and me, and learn how to purr like a pussycat down the phone. It’s time for oratorical fireworks. Sign up for free here and share this article and signup link with someone you care about enough to help them succeed. I’ll be waiting in your inbox every Wednesday morning. Peace. THB

Now here’s that recipe.

Rack of lamb. (2 racks recipe!) This is not difficult and has the wow factor. Do not forget a bottle of Jean Leon 3055 Petit Verdot.

Two racks of lamb kept on the bone and not cut up into chops

Preheat oven: 360°F or 180°C

A fist full of rosemary (without the stems), half a teaspoon of salt and pepper (freshly ground), 5 cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard, and 3 tablespoons of grape seed oil. Add everything to a blender for a few seconds. Prick the lamb with a fork to open it up a bit. (not the bones) and smear your mixture mostly on the top part of the lamb. Cook for 15 minutes (rare)

Serve with some buttered, seasoned, mashed potatoes and truffles. Throw in some asparagus tips.

Start off with a filthy avocado prawn cocktail and Negroni.

Finish off with a crème caramel.

Barricade the front door, switch off the phone, and enjoy the moment.

How we doing. Did we rinse it? Trip the light fantastic? How can we do better? Wanna talk? Drop us a line: [email protected]